Tuesday, December 16, 2008

Makes Sense

The useless College Football post season kicked off with the individual awards. These are beauties, they really are. Why?

Of course, Sam Bradford won the Heisman (Outstanding Player). However, Timmy Tebow got the Maxwell Award (again, Outstanding Player). Who won the Walter Camp (Player of the Year)? Colt McCoy.

On defense, Rey Maualuga won the Chuck "Concrete Charlie" Bednarik (Defensive Player of the Year), but wasn't even voted the most "Outstanding Linebacker" (Dick Butkus). That went to Aaron Curry of Wake Forest. Oh, and Brian Orakpo was awarded the Bronko Nagurski (Defensive Player of the Year).

Make sense? Of course not. This is College Football's post season we're talking about. Don't worry, the New Mexico and "MagicJack St. Petersburg" bowls kickoff on Friday. Those should be sweet!



wrigleyville said...

on each and every one of them, the philly media complained that it should have gone to charlie manuel or ryan howard. then wrote, "but they won the world series, so they got the real award."

D'Amico's one good year said...

It's like kids soccer. Everyone got a little participation trophy.

garcia said...

you know what else makes sense? Nick Collins as the starting pro bowl safety!!

He must have been a lock after the the last four games